Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 27th, 2009

 

Outdoor rooms are one of the best gifts one can give themselves. I enjoy sitting on my patio, with a nice little garden the only separation from the open valley behind my home. With Southern exposure, the chilly winter mornings are a great place to wakeup with a cup of coffee and listen to nature start it’s day.

A Start to Your Own Outdoor Room

A Start to Your Own Outdoor Room

 

I have an outdoor carpet with a couple of adirondack chairs and a small table to really expand the living space from the square footage of my home. Another end of the patio has our grill and a large butcher block table with bar stools. My patio is very long and narrow, so I’ve never been able to find an outdoor dining set that one could sit at comfortably. Instead, I focused on making smaller sitting areas that are actually great for entertaining. At the far end of my outdoor space, I found the perfect bistro table with barstools. This allows for micro areas for everyone to to have separate conversations, yet still be close enough to mingle. 

We built an arbor across the length of the house to provide more versatility. During the winter, it allows the sun to do its job, warming the house as well as melting snow on the concrete. In the summer we are able to drape it with fabric to provide shade as a relief from the sun in it’s higher zenith and cool the house as well. We do not have air conditioning and I find that I’ve never had the need for it. I enjoy the investment of the arbor more than the electric bill and noise of a condenser!

Everyone should have an outdoor room, no matter how big or small it is.

Read Full Post »

